Monday, 08 July 2019 17:19

Kandy Truth Commission Report Presented to PM

Members of Kandy District Inter Religious Committee (DIRC) handed over the report of its Truth Finding Citizen’s Commission on the Kandy anti-Muslim riots that took place in Digana in March last year to Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

DIRC implemented the Commission as a citizens’ response to the riots to find out the root causes of the violence. The proceedings of the hearing were conducted in public with the news media in attendance.

The members appointed as commissioners included retired judge Justice W.M.P.B. Waravewa, Professor S.A. Kulasooriya, Professor Milton Rajaratne, lawyer Chrismal Warnasooriya, Professor Amarakeerthi Liyanage, and former Kandy Government Agent A.M.L.B. Polgolla.

The commissioners assigned two expert committees to collect the evidence from the victims as well as from the other people in the areas where the most serious incidents had taken place.